Cancel Preloader
Understanding the Six Kalimas of Islam

In Islam, the Six Kalimas stand as profound expressions of faith, encapsulating the core beliefs that serve as the bedrock of a Muslim’s spirituality. These Kalimas, or statements, hold a significant place in the hearts of believers, guiding them on their spiritual journey and fostering a deep connection with Allah.

Every Muslim needs to learn and understand the Six Kalimas. Idara Al Furqan provides an excellent solution for this. The teachers at Idara Al Furqan offer guidance to help you properly learn and understand these Six Kalimas online.

The Six Kalimas of Islam

In Islam, it’s important to have a strong belief in Almighty Allah. A solid foundation leads to a strong faith. The Six Kalimas consist of words that form the basic level of faith. Idara Al Furqan is a place where you can learn these Kalimas and strengthen your belief in every aspect of Islam and its fundamental values.

To increase understanding of Islam, scholars (Ulemas) highlight the importance of the Six Kalimas. Therefore these kalimas are considered to be an important and primary part of Islamic belief for every single Muslim.

The Six Kalimas consist of words from the Hadith and the sayings of the Prophet (P.B.U.H). The 6 kalimas are categorized as follows.

  1. Kalimat aṭ-Ṭayyibah
  2. Kalimat ash-Shahādah
  3. Kalimat at-Tamjīd
  4. Kalimat at-Tawḥīd
  5. Kalimat Istighfār
  6. Kalimat Radd al-Kufr

Kalimat aṭ-Ṭayyibah

The phrase “La ilaha ill Allah, Muhammad Ur Rasool Allah” means “There is no god but Allah, Muhammad is the messenger of Allah.”

The First Kalima is considered the most important of the Six Kalimas because it declares the basic belief in Islam.

Kalima Shahadat

Ash-hadu Al-laaa Ilaaha Illa-llaahu Wahdahoo Laa Shareeka Lahoo Wa-Ash-hadu Anna Muhammadan ‘Abduhoo Wa Rasooluhu.

I bear witness that there is none worthy of worship except Allah, the One alone, without a partner, and I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and Messenger.

Kalima Tamjeed

The meaning behind the phrase is a powerful declaration of the greatness and oneness of Allah (God). It emphasizes that Allah is deserving of glory, honor, and recognition. The message underscores that there is no deity except Allah, emphasizing the uniqueness and singularity of the Almighty. Additionally, it acknowledges Allah’s supremacy, stating that He is greater than all things, and emphasizes that all power and strength originate from Him alone.

Kalima Taw heed

The Kalima Taw heed emphasizes the oneness of Allah and the rejection of any partners. By declaring “La ilaha illallah,” Muslims affirm the exclusive worship of Allah, rejecting polytheism in all its forms. This Kalima is a powerful reminder of the central pillar of Islamic faith – the absolute oneness of God.

Kalima Astaghfar

The Kalima Astaghfar serves as a humble plea for forgiveness from Allah. By acknowledging human imperfections and seeking divine mercy, Muslims strive to purify their hearts and souls. Reciting this Kalima is an expression of repentance and a commitment to seeking Allah’s forgiveness.

Kalima Radd al-Kufr

In the Kalima Radd al-Kufr, believers reaffirm their rejection of disbelief and assert their commitment to Islamic principles. This declaration is a testament to the unwavering faith of Muslims, as they reject ideologies contrary to the teachings of Islam.

Importance of 6 Kalimas of Islam

The importance of the Six Kalimas in a Muslim’s life lies in their role as foundational statements of faith and guidance:

  1. Spiritual Foundation: They provide a solid foundation for a Muslim’s spiritual journey, shaping beliefs and guiding daily actions.
  2. Educational Tool: Learning and understanding the Kalimas are integral to Islamic education, ensuring a clear understanding of faith.
  3. Daily Remembrance: Regular recitation reinforces Islamic principles and strengthens the connection with Allah, serving as a daily reminder.
  4. Guidance in Challenges: The Kalimas offer guidance and comfort during difficult times, providing strength and solace.
  5. Cultural and Religious Identity: They contribute to the cultural and religious identity of Muslims, fostering unity and shared beliefs within the global Muslim community.


In conclusion, the Six Kalimas serve as a comprehensive guide for Muslims to deepen their understanding of Islamic beliefs. From the purity of expression to the rejection of disbelief, these Kalimas offer a holistic approach to strengthening one’s faith. Learning and reflecting upon these profound statements contribute to a more profound connection with Allah and a more steadfast commitment to the principles of Islam.


What are the Six Kalimas of Islam?

The six Kalimas are short, simple declarations of faith that are considered fundamental to the Islamic faith. They include the declaration of Tawheed, the declaration of belief in the Prophet Muhammad, and other basic Islamic beliefs.

Why are the Six Kalimas important in Islam?

Crucial to Islamic belief, the Kalimas articulate core tenets, offering reminders of oneness, gratitude, repentance, and rejection of disbelief. They provide guidance, foster spiritual growth, and contribute to a Muslim’s cultural and religious identity.

How can I memorize the Six Kalimas easily?

Ease memorization through repetition, breaking down each Kalima, understanding meanings, using visual aids, and associating them with actions or daily routines.

What is the significance of the first Kalima (Shahada)?

The Shahada affirms Allah’s oneness and Prophet Muhammad’s prophethood. It serves as the foundational declaration of faith, marking one’s entrance into the Muslim community.

How do the Kalimas contribute to a Muslim’s daily life?

Offering daily reminders of Islamic principles, the Kalimas guide and foster spiritual growth. They contribute to a Muslim’s cultural and religious identity, fostering unity within the global Muslim community.

Can children learn the Six Kalimas?

Yes, children are encouraged to learn the Kalimas from a young age, with educational resources designed for easier memorization and understanding.

What is the purpose of seeking forgiveness in the Kalima Astaghfar?

Acknowledging human imperfections, Astaghfar seeks forgiveness from Allah, promoting repentance, humility, and a desire for divine mercy.

Read Also

How to Pray in Islam – Step by Step Guide

How to Perform Wudu – Step by Step Guide

What Breaks Wudu? 9 Key Events Every Muslim Should Know

Why Should You Recite the Quran Daily?

How to Spend Your Ramadan – A Spiritual Journey

How to Memorize the Quran Easily – Tips & Techniques

Islamophobia and the Quran

Holiest Sites in Islam

What is Janazah? All You Need To Know

10 Manners & Etiquettes of Holy Quran Recitation