Cancel Preloader
7 Levels of Jahannam (Hell)

Jahannam, also known as Hell, is a concept deeply rooted in Islamic theology. It is a place of punishment for evildoers in the afterlife, with the severity of the punishment based on the weight of the sins committed. This blog post will delve into the concept of Jahannam and its seven levels, each associated with different kinds of punishments.

The Concept of Jahannam

Jahannam is described as an ever-flaming pit of fire, with a heat that is black and 70 times more harmful than worldly fire. It is a place from which every human and jinn is warned and told to refrain from sins. The fire of Jahannam kept burning for a thousand years until it turned from fiery red to bright white, and then for another thousand years until it became pitch black.

In Jahannam, there are various venomous and hideous animals, such as venomous donkeys whose bites will not be soothed for 40 years. The sinners in Jahannam will be provided with puss, blood, harsh boiling water to drink, and a tree called Zaqqum with prickly thorny branches to eat.

The 7 Levels of Jahannam

Jahannam is divided into 7 levels, each associated with different types of sinners and punishments. The temperature and the severity of the punishment increase as one descends through the levels. Let’s take a closer look at each level:

  1. Jahannam: This is the first level of Hell, with the least heat and the least painful punishment for the sinners. It is reserved for those who believed in Allah and His Messenger [saw], but who ignored His commands.
  2. Ladha: The second level of Hell, Ladhaa, is for those who will have to eat dreadful food and drink boiling water because they neglected prayer, lied and gossiped, and did not pay zakat.
  3. Saqar: The third level of Hell, Saqar, is for the sinners who did not believe in Allah and were proud and arrogant in this life. The fire consumes the flesh but not the bones, and they are unable to die despite their pleas for death.
  4. Hutamah: The fourth level of Hell, Hutamah, is where the fire shatters the skeletons and consumes the hearts and internal organs. It is reserved for those who backbite and slander others, and who have a malicious heart towards other Muslims.
  5. Jaheem: The fifth level of Hell, Jaheem, is for those who were too proud to worship Allah and who were miserly, not helping the poor or the needy or the orphans. Here, there are large pieces of burning coal.
  6. Saeer: The sixth level of Hell, Saeer, is for those who worshipped others besides Allah, like idols and false deities.
  7. Hawiyah: The last and deepest level of Hell, Hawiyah, is reserved for the hypocrites who claimed to be Muslims but in their hearts was disbelief. The punishment here is the worst and most severe.

Each level is designed for different types of sinners, and the punishments vary accordingly. It is believed that after finishing their punishments, the Ummah (people) of Prophet Muhammed, peace and blessings be upon him, who are Muslims, will be sent to Jannah (heaven).


The concept of Jahannam serves as a stark reminder of the consequences of evil deeds and the importance of leading a righteous life. It encourages individuals to refrain from sins and strive for goodness, with the ultimate goal of attaining Jannah, the Islamic concept of paradise.


What is Jahannam?

Jahannam is the Arabic word for Hell, a place of punishment for those who disobey Allah (SWT) and reject His Messengers.

How many levels are there in Jahannam?

There are 7 levels in Jahannam, each representing a different degree of punishment.

What happens to the sinners in Jahannam?

As the sinners enter through its gates, their faces will be burned, and the Fire will eat their flesh. Here, Allah (SWT) will renew their flesh every time they are burned.

What is the duration of punishment in Jahannam?

The duration and intensity of the punishment will vary depending on the person’s level of disbelief, disobedience, and sinfulness.

What happens after the punishment in Jahannam?

It is believed that after finishing their punishments, the Ummah (people) of Prophet Muhammed, peace and blessings be upon him, who are Muslims, will be sent to Jannah (heaven).

Read Also

Life of Prophet Muhammad (SAW)

Compilation of Quran – History, Stages & More

Quran Revelation – All You Need To Know

Importance of the Quran in Our Life

The 8 Doors of Jannah

4 Main Angels in Islam & Their Duties

Always Keep the Connection with Allah ‘ON’

12 Steps to Learn Islam from the Beginning